B.C. Votes for a Smart Meters Moratorium

SEPTEMBER 30, 2011

The Union of British Columbia Municipalities has voted in favour of a resolution calling for a moratorium on the BC government’s smart meter program…

full article 

The Resolution For BC Smart Meter Moratorium

Whereas significant and serious health, privacy and other concerns have been identified regarding the installation of wireless smart meters in British Columbia and

Whereas BC Hydro is proceeding with its program to install wireless smart meters in British Columbia although it recognizes there is active discussion and ongoing research into the possible health and environmental effects related to radio frequency signals and it is aware the World Health Organization has called for further investigation on this matter in its press release issued on May 31, 2011:

Therefore be it resolved that a moratorium be placed on the mandatory installation of wireless smart meters until the major issues and problems identified regarding wireless smart meters are independently assessed and acceptable alternatives can be made available at no added cost to the consumer.

link – http://citizensforsafetechnology.org/

One thought on “B.C. Votes for a Smart Meters Moratorium

  1. I moved into a designated handicap apartment about eight years ago. About five years ago they switched out the nine meters for the building to smart-meters. The panel is three feet from where I slept at the time. About ten feet from my 10 year old’s bed, 20 feet from from 13 year old’s bed. We have been living just feet from NINE SMART METERS FOR FIVE YEARS.

    I have a rare spinal cord injury that caused a severe auto-immune response. I was diagnosed with lupus, fibromyalgia, CFS, diabetes, Hashimoto’s, connective tissue disorder, degenerative disc disease, scoliosis, and more. Hence the handicap apartment.

    About four years ago I couldn’t deny any longer that I was declining rapidly. I accepted that. The tinnitus I’d suffered for decades became unbearable. The brain fog, confusion and lack of coherence convinced me I was not long for this world.

    While this was happening my 13 y/o, P, 9/10 at the time, began to show symptoms of CFS/ME and fibromyalgia. Depression and dizziness, brain fog and weakness began to take away her life.

    Doctor’s had no explanations for any of our symptoms.

    Three months ago my 10 y/o, D, almost died from a sudden cancer that took her kidney and lymph nodes. This tumor was unheard of in a child her age, and was so unusually formed it took weeks for them to confirm the type. She went through radiation and is now halfway through months of chemo. I am watching the chemo kill her and praying everyday she can bounce back from this.

    I’ve lined the walls with mylar emergency blankets and layers of aluminum mesh. I’ve wrapped the entire outside bank in aluminum mesh.

    The power company quickly changed out my smart-meter. But I have to petition everyone in the building to sign the paperwork. There is resistance and refusal. Even the Building Management company refuses to switch theirs out. I sent them the paperwork and they refused because of a fee. They said they’s consider it if I convinced everyone in the building. They know the crack and meth dealers in the building will never sign.

    The question is, when they put that fucking bank of meters outside the one handicap apartment, were they thinking ahead? Because I know, no matter what I have to offer the world, I’m disabled, sick and poor and the first kind to be exterminated.

    I guess my beautiful, wise children are being murdered simply because they were born to a cripple.

    Please remember our story.

    It’s true and I may not be around much longer to tell it.

Leave a Reply

